Just Because

This poem is very special to be. I’ve written this poem in my English class. The teacher wanted us to write a poem about breaking a stereotype. This poem is about breaking the stereotype of a dyslexic kid. After I written, I sent it into a contest called Karina Eide Young Writers Awards. I even won an award: The Special Recognition Award from Dyslexic Advantage. The main reason why I wanted to write this poem was because I want dyslexia to be recognized. There are kids out there who need help in not just reading, but learning in general. I hope you enjoy it.

Just because I have dyslexia,
Doesn’t mean I’m unable to read
I love to read!
Reading wants to make me a writer.
I have a collection of a variety of books,
And a library card.
Just because I have dyslexia,
Doesn’t mean I’m unable to understand.
I understand many things.
It’s the complexity that leaves me perplexed.
Just because I have dyslexia,
It doesn’t mean you can ignore me.
I’m not the only one.
Please let people know.
I want you to know what it’s like.
I’m not stupid just because I have dyslexia.
They’re just simple, everyday mistakes.

Emily Gray

Leave a Reply

